Opinion – Foods with GMO's are NOT Halal!

opinion

In the Qur’an sharif Allah (swt) commands us by saying:

O you believers! Eat of the lawful things that We (Allah (swt)) have provided you with, and be grateful to Allah, if it is indeed He Whom you worship.
( سورة البقرة , Al-Baqara, Chapter #2, Verse #172)

Ya ayyuha allatheena amanoo kuloo min tayyibati ma razaqnakum waoshkuroo lillahi in kuntum iyyahu ta’budoona

يَا أَيُّهَا الَّذِينَ آمَنُوا كُلُوا مِن طَيِّبَاتِ مَا رَزَقْنَاكُمْ وَاشْكُرُوا لِلَّهِ إِن كُنتُمْ إِيَّاهُ تَعْبُدُونَ

Note that in this commandment to the believers Allah (swt) says to heat what He has provided for us. Foods with GMO’s in them are NOT what He has provided for us but rather a product of human engineering. I submit that therefore these foods are not halal.

Muslims should insist that foods with GMO’s in them should be labeled as such so that they know which foods they can and cannot eat. Also I implore those organizations which certify Halal foods be aware of this and add the requirement that food be free of GMO’s in order to be certified Halal.
I will be writing a Khutbah on this, insha’allah, this Jummah (Friday).

If there are others who agree with this, perhaps someone with the proper scholarship can issue a fatwa with me on the subject.


[subscribe2]

This entry was posted in Opinion, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s